Would

Would adalah bagian dari modal verb dan diikuti oleh infinitive without ‘to’. “Would” sering disingkat dengan ‘d.

* I’d like to come with you, but I’m busy.
* He’d sit all day watching the people go by.

Would mempunyai banyak sekali kegunaan, seperti:

CONDITIONAL

Would digunakan dalam bentuk Conditional yang berbeda-beda tipe:

2nd conditional

* If I went to China, I would visit the Great Wall.

3rd conditional

* If she had studied harder, she would have passed her exams.

Conditional Campuran

* If he hadn’t missed the bus, he would be here now.

REPORTED SPEECH

Dalam reported speech ‘will’ diganti menjadi would:

* I will be there! She said she would be there.
* I won’t be able to come with you on Saturday. He said he wouldn’t be able to come with us on Saturday.
* Will you do me a favour? She asked if I would do her a favour.

REQUEST & OFFER

Gunakan would untuk menyuruh orang lain melakukan sesuatu:

* Would you do me a favour?
* Would you mind opening the window?

Untuk menawarkan atau mengundang orang lain, gunakan Would you like…?

* Would you like me to get you something while I’m at the shop?
* Would you like to come with me to the cinema?

PAST FUTURE

Fungsi kata “would” pada Past Future adalah “Anda pikir di masa lampau sesuatu akan terjadi di masa yang akan datang”. Contohnya “Kemarin Anda pikir hari ini Presiden Amerika akan datang ke Indonesia. Hari ini pada hari kemarin adalah “future”. Itulah Past Future.

* When she was a teenager she knew she would be rich and famous.
* It was at that moment that I knew they would win the game.

COMMON EXPRESSIONS

Would + like:

Struktur ini digunakan untuk membicarakan sesuatu yang kita ingin lakukan atau tidak ingin kita lakukan:

* Yes, I’d like to go with you.
* I wouldn’t like to be outside now.

Would rather

Struktur ini digunakan untuk menyatakan pilihan:

* What would you rather do: go to the cinema or stay at home for the evening?
* I’d rather be poor and happy than rich and sad.

  1. Tinggalkan komentar

Tinggalkan komentar